The Distinguished Volunteer Award – Formerly the Dalton Skinner Award

The Distinguished Volunteer Award, is awarded annually to a volunteer that has demonstrated outstanding volunteer service to United Way of Central Alberta (UWCA), the recipient has usually completed many years of service (at least 5) and often in more than one area of UWCA’s activities. Their volunteer commitment to UWCA is unwavering and often stands head and shoulders above many others.


2017 – Dave Brunner

2016 – John Mulgrew

Dave Brunner receives his Distinguished Volunteer Award from CEO Robert J. Mitchell & Board Chair Belinda Davies.





The Dalton Skinner Award was given until 2015 when it was retired, for distinguished voluntary service to United Way Central Alberta. In 1992, after the sad loss of United Way Charter Member, Dalton Skinner, this memorial award was created to honour his leadership. The recipients have been involved with United Way over a long period of time and have served in many different capacities while making an outstanding personal contribution to our community as Dalton did.  As a founding member, Dalton’s service to the community through the United Way spanned a 26-year period. In 1964, Dalton and Al Neuert, President of United Way, along with 13 other local citizens, decided to hold a local fundraising drive, which continues to this day. During Dalton’s involvement with United Way, $4.6 million was raised and invested in local service agencies.

Dalton’s love of his family, neighbours, friends and community was well known throughout this city. The time and energy he gave to United Way was his way of helping everyone through one enormous effort. He received much gratification in seeing people overcome disadvantages because of help made possible through United Way support. Indeed, he was a humanitarian in every sense of the word.




2015 Mike Gerhardt

2014 Murray Cunningham

2013 Brenda Farwell

2012 Donna Morrison

2011 Lars Rogers

2010 Linda Wilson

2009 Gwen Clark

2008 Elizabeth Simpson

2007 Peter Ott

2006 Sherri Smith

2005 Lynne Mulder

2004 Dean Krejci

2003 Pat Winters

2002 Jane Donald

2001 Bruce Holt

2000 Sharon Miller

1999 Ron Saniszlo

1998 Delta Rempel

1997 Cheryl Murphy

1996 Shelley Smith

1995 Wendy Walls

1994 Ron Hammerback

1993 Doug Waines

1992 Edna Short